Three Minutes with Liberian Model Daniel Akeem

Apart from the beauty we have abundantly in Africa, raw talent is also present. I had the pleasure of speaking to one talented man, male model Daniel Akeem from Liberia. I first came across him when I was compiling a list of 1000 African models.

The Chronicles of An African Girl:  How did you get into modeling?

Daniel: I don’t have a typical fairytale story about being discovered by a model scout on the streets of New York. The story of how I got into modeling started with a regular picture I took for facebook. I posted the image and a friend of mine said “you look like a model”. What she said made me give modeling a try. I did, and since then I’ve been doing my thing. Thanks Suegathai Kai for that comment.

The Chronicles of An African Girl: What work have you done so far?

Daniel: Some shows I have done include The Cheetah Outreach’s Hampton’s Fundraiser fashion show, and The Mama Africa Program fashion show. Additionally, I have walked for Sarfo Of Styles (Official designer for Miss Ghana), Virtuous Queen Fashions, Jason Troisi (Project Runway designer, season8), and William Witherspoon Collections in his Harlem Super Heroes fashion show.  I’m looking forward to my next show on the 19th of February for LaVie Clothing Co.

The Chronicles of An African Girl: What challenges have you faced thus far?

Daniel: I face the same challenge most black/african models face. Most shows have less than a hand full of black/african models.  So the chance to get booked is very competitive.

The Chronicles of An African Girl: What advice would you give other African men seeking to model?

Daniel: Sit in the sun for hours until u are extremely dark because this industry loves dark skin models. Lol that was a joke…  If anyone of my African brothers are seeking to model the best advice I can give is be humble, hardworking, and passionate.

The Chronicles of An African Girl: In your spare time, what do you enjoy doing?

Daniel: In my spare time I enjoy reading, writing, drawing, watching/playing sports, and sharing my life with love ones.

The Chronicles of An African Girl: How can potential clients reach you?

Daniel: Facebook.com/akeemville, twitter.com/akeemville, akeemville@gmail.com, and through my agency email: chasemodelsny@gmail.com

4 thoughts on “Three Minutes with Liberian Model Daniel Akeem

  1. can you see that bright light besties? cuz i can…..you did amazingly!!!! keep up the hard work and in due time every little thing will pay off. ily

Leave a Reply

