Artist Margrit-Rose People, Passionate about Africa….

I stumbled across Margrit by accident recently. She is a German born, US based artist who specializes in paintings (portraits and anstract) jewellery among other things. I spoke to her about her keen interest on painting African portraits…..

One of my favourite paintings by Margrit

The Chronicles of an African Girl: Have you had an exhibition in Africa?

Margrit: I never had an exhibition in Africa, although I would love to have one.

The Chronicles of an African Girl: Which African country inspires your work the most and why?

Margrit: The African country which inspires me the most is Ethiopia, the early home of civilizations. I love the extraordinary diversity of ethiopian cultures, their beauty, strength and vitality. I love their marvelous body painting  and their elaborate decorations borrowed from nature. I am fascinated by the beauty of the Surma, Karo, Dasanech and Mursi tribes.

The Chronicles of an African Girl: The first thing I noticed about your paitnings is they portray a very positive image of African people. How did you find beauty in Africa where some do not?

Margrit: African people are in my eyes very beautiful, full of life and vitality, I love their music and artifacts.

The Chronicles of an African Girl: What advice would you give to upcoming African artists or any other person keen on exploring their creative side?

Margrit: The advice I can give to African artists is to follow your heart, go back to your roots, try to find what is deep inside you and you want to share with the world, tell your story, and the story of your people, be conscious of the cultures, try to contribute with your art to a new future, show the truth in everything. And have FUN ,JOY, and be EXCITED  about life. Alone the process of creating is unbelievable satisfying and hopefully encouraging for more and more young people to do the same.

The Chronicles of an African Girl: You listen to a lot of African music while working on your art. Who are your favourite African musicians?

Margrit: When I listen to African music I like to listen to Soukous music, to Angelique Kidjo, Dobet Gnahore, Lucky Dube, Rokia Traore, Khaled, Cesaria Evora, Oliver Mtukudzi, Youssou N’Dour, Guem, Thomas Mapfumo, Ladysmith Black Mambazo, Oliver Mtukudzi.

Here is her work…..

For more information on Margrit, check out her websites: www.africanartworkbymargrit.com and www.margritrosepeople.com

Leave a Reply

