Zapata Mexican Restaurant, Westlands, Nairobi

And here it is, a description of our lunch at Zapata, the first official Mexican Restaurant in Nairobi. Previously, if you wanted to try some mexican food, you would have to look at a tiny section of the menu at Havana or Sohos in Westlands. Now there’s an entire restaurant ready to be explored 🙂

Lucy, the restaurant’s head of marketing invited Miranda, Jean Michel and I thanks to Monica (Identity Partner) for lunch. Zapata is open for business but are in the testing stage. Eventually they will have their grand opening.

I must apologize for the picture quality. I got my fabulous camera a few days after this lunch. I used Miranda’s iPhone to document our culinary journey…..

To kick start the lunch we had the cream corn soup which really good (as you can see I remembered to take a picture when I was halfway through it)

Then came our main course which was chicken fajitas accompanied with beans.

I believe these are the first corn tortillas I have had in Nairobi. All other restaurants serve flour tortillas…..

We must have gone through 5 baskets of these lovely tortilla chips….

Our dessert was ice cream and pie. The reason my ice cream is partly melted is because I was still getting over my surprise after meeting the chef, Omar from Mexico….

At a very tender age of 23, Omar has 7 years of cooking experience and is very excited about working in Nairobi.

Here are more pictures of Zapata.

As always we had fun 🙂

Lucy’s email is: ndumayambu@gmail.com and Zapata is located on Chiromo Lane, Parklands Plaza, Ground Floor. They are open from 12:00pm till midnight. Do let me know if you get a chance to check it out!

2 thoughts on “Zapata Mexican Restaurant, Westlands, Nairobi

  1. Extremely happy that we finally have an authentic mexican restaurant in Nairobi. Can’t wait to try it. Hope Omar makes Carne Asada tacos and burritos.

Leave a Reply

