An Evening with Basement Jaxx’s Felix Buxton Under the African Skies…

First and foremost, I must apologize for my prolonged absence online. The past couple of weeks have been overwhelming, in a positive way. Honestly I have been waiting for a darn good reason to get back to blogging, and I did get it.

So there I was minding my own business last night at home watching Naruto while simultaneously catching up with my amazing flatmate when the Boss called and insisted that I join him for dinner. Now this man is usually so busy up and down to the point where his own shadow attempts to catch up with him…and fails. Therefore an invitation to dinner is usually an indication that something phenomenal is happening. This phenomena was Felix Buxton who is part of the Legendary Basement Jaxx.

They are a British electronic dance music duo from London, England. I had the pleasure of bonding with Felix and what a fascinating man he is!

Akinyi: Is this your first time in Africa?

Buxton: No, I have been to Malawi before.

Akinyi (In a bullying tone): But of course Kenya is your favorite country in Africa, right?

Buxton (Smiling): Well I have enjoyed every second of it. Attending and participating in the Rift Valley Festival was amazing!

Akinyi: I hope the Festival gets to gradually grow to the point where it is an event recognized worldwide….

Buxton: Actually I love the fact that it is where it is. Massive festivals can be overwhelming.

Akinyi: So what was the highlight of your visit?

Buxton: I enjoyed a lot of things but I must admit recording music with some of the Kenyan musicians was incredible. I even stumbled upon a Kenyan choir practicing and was honored to record with them.

Akinyi: Well do let us know when your next singles/albums are released and we’ll be glad to check it out.

Buxton: Absolutely!

Akinyi: I must confess, having met one or two artists/celebrities, you surprisingly come across as very pleasant and easy going…

At this point Felix blushed profusely as in the background I could hear the Dj playing one of my all time favorite tracks, Rebound by Arty & Mat Zo. I hurriedly excused myself and proceeded to shamelessly break it down on the dancefloor. Such are Wednesdays in Africa 🙂

Leave a Reply

